Home Innovation & Excellence Nomination tips

Need help writing a compelling nomination? Our judges read over a hundred nominations each year, but there can only be one winner per category. We’ve put together some top tips and tricks to help you write an award-winning submission.

Before you make your submission, please check you have met the following criteria.

  • Nominations must be made by Property Council of Australia
  • Projects must have been completed in the previous 5 years
    (subject to category, refer to category criteria).
  • Projects must be operating for at least one year as at 31
    December 2023 (subject to category, refer to category criteria).
  • Projects must not have previously won the award in the same
  • Project financials MUST be supplied (refer to nomination form) for your submission to be considered.
  • Where financials are requested they must be provided for the submission to be considered for that particular award. Financials are kept confidential and are not made public. Judges sign confidentiality agreements. The reason for the information is to ensure the development/project is financially viable.
  • Judges read a lot of submissions, think about what makes your submission stand out from the rest, and how best to present your submission accordingly.
  • Less is more. Avoid fluff. Make every word count. Avoid repetition.
  • Word count is NOT a reliable indicator of effort required – and you don’t need to go to the exact word limit!
  • Dot points can be used when writing the submission.
  • Innovation in your responses should be clearly expressed. Claims such as “Australian first” should be substantiated.
  • Don’t repeat content across criteria questions (but you can cross reference)
  • Provide good quality testimonials (not just project team), including pre-post statistics monitoring satisfaction.
  • Please be clear in your submission. Any post-submission dialogue in relation to the nomination will solely be undertaken at the discretion of the judges’ panel.

2023 Winners

Australian Development of the Year

Brookfield Place Sydney (NSW)

State Development of the Year

Best Affordable Housing Development

11 Gibbons Street, Redfern (NSW)

Best Business or Industrial Park

Logos Heathwood Logistics Estate (QLD)

Development Innovation

Brookfield Place Sydney (NSW)

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion


Future Leader of the Year

Camille Jasson

Government Leadership

Green Square Town Centre (NSW)

Best Heritage Development

Locomotive Workshop, South Eveleigh

Best Master Planned Community

Baringa At Aura (QLD)

Best Mixed Use Development

Brookfield Place Sydney (NSW)

Best Office Development

Brookfield Place Sydney (NSW)

Product, Program or Service Innovation

Homes For Homes and Denman Prospect

Best Public Art Project

Quay Quarter Tower: Olafur Eliasson, Roof for Stray Thoughts Quay Quarter Lanes: Jonathan Jones, Remembering Arabanoo (NSW)

Best Public Building

Australian Museum Project Discover Stage 1 (NSW)

Best Residential Development

The Standard by Aria (QLD)

Best Shopping Centre Development

Rhodes Central Shopping Centre (NSW)

Best Sustainable Development

Midtown Centre (QLD)

Best Tourism & Leisure Development

The Tasman Hotel, Parliament Square Hobart (TAS)

Best Workplace Project

Queen & Collins (VIC)

People’s Choice Award

73 Miller Street (NSW)

Principal Sponsor

Awards sponsors