Home Queensland Queensland Past Presidents’ Scholarship Recipient announced for 2024

Queensland Past Presidents’ Scholarship Recipient announced for 2024

  • February 14, 2024
  • by Property Australia
Queensland Past President Bruce Harper joined QUT Associate Pro. Connie Susilawati on stage at Property Market Outlook to announce Grace Taplin as the 2024 scholarship recipient

Grace Taplin was named as the fourth recipient of the prestigious Past Presidents’ Scholarship, at the 2024 Queensland Property Market Outlook on 7 February.

As the recipient of the scholarship, Ms Taplin will receive $5,000 in financial assistance and $5,000 worth of experiential benefits.

The scholarship brings opportunity aplenty with Taplin getting the chance to connect and learn from titans of the Queensland Property Industry.

Receiving the award on stage at Property Market Outlook, Taplin was joined by Past President of the Property Council’s Queensland Division Bruce Harper and Associate Professor at Queensland University of Technology Dr Connie Susilawati.

Ms Taplin said she was excited to learn from legends of the Queensland property industry.

“I am really looking forward to building some valuable connections and being able to learn and pick the brains of as many industry leaders as possible,” Ms Taplin said.

“Not only that, being given the opportunity to attend the events, courses and future direction committee meetings really excites me and I plan to leverage every opportunity to its fullest potential.

“I read about the scholarship early last year, and I thought to myself, what a fantastic opportunity and set my mind to it ever since.

“I recognise how important industry connections are within the property space, and I knew this would be a monumental step in assisting me set up a successful career.”

A student at Queensland University of Technology, Ms Taplin originally started her studies with a business degree before making it a dual degree with Property Economics.

“I started university studying Business and it just wasn’t interesting enough for me. I have great exposure to property through my Dad and overall found the industry to be really intriguing,” Ms Taplin said.

“I later read about the unique Property Economics degree at QUT and discovered there were so many different avenues I could explore and thought no further.

“I have only been to one event thus far, but everyone was so welcoming and keen to chat. I can tell the culture is really strong and I am feeling really grateful for the opportunity to be a part of it as the scholarship recipient for 2024.”

Past President of the Property Council’s Queensland Division Bruce Harper said the Past Presidents’ Scholarship acknowledges the rising stars in the industry.

“Awarding the Past Presidents’ Scholarship is always an exciting time for us, it’s a great opportunity to recognise the hard work of the industry’s brightest rising stars,” Mr Harper said.

“From mentoring to committee participation, there’s so many opportunities for the recipient to get unmatched industry experience.

“Grace is such a deserving recipient of this year’s scholarship and I’m excited to see what she achieves this year and in the future.”

Incoming Executive Director of the Property Council’s Queensland Division Jess Caire said recipients of the Past Presidents’ Scholarship are wonderful examples of the next generation of industry leaders.

“There is always such an outstanding group of applicants for the scholarship, applications for this year were no different, and it is pleasing to see such a strong pipeline of talent coming through the Property Economics degree at QUT,” Ms Caire said.

“Grace is driven, ambitious and eager to learn, and there is no doubt she’ll make the most of what this scholarship has to offer, her commitment to further career development, is why she is such a worth recipient.

“The scholarship is now in its fourth year, and it’s great to see previous recipients Anna, Emerson, and Georgia go from strength to strength in the careers and further study, it is also wonderful to see them come together regularly as alumni and support and celebrate Grace becoming the 2024 Past Presidents’ Scholar.”