2032 Brisbane Olympic and Paralympic Games Legislation Passed

Last week Queensland Parliament passed the legislation required to establish an organising committee for the Brisbane 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games. The Brisbane Olympic and Paralympic Arrangements Bill 2021 is the first step in planning and formalises the governance structure to oversee the event.  

The Bill outlines the make-up of the board, which will consist of the following:

  • five independent directors nominated by the Minister, with the consent of the Prime Minister (with one being the President)
  • up to four persons nominated by the Prime Minister
  • four persons nominated by the Premier
  • one person nominated by the Lord Mayor
  • the Lord Mayor
  • the President or Honorary Life President of the Australian Olympic Committee (AOC)
  • the President of Paralympics Australia (PA)
  • any active members of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) residing in Australia
  • any members of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Governing Board residing in Australia
  • the chief executive officer of the AOC
  • a recent Olympic athlete as confirmed by the AOC Athletes’ Commission
  • a recent Paralympic Athlete as confirmed by the PA Athletes’ Commission.

 Presently the confirmed appointments are Bronte Barratt OAM OLY, Kurt Fearnley AO, Redlands Mayor Cr Karen Williams and the Lord Mayor of Brisbane, Cr Adrian Schrinner.

The Property Council will continue to keep members updated as future appointments are announced.

For more information, please read the Government’s media statement here.