Stuart Hornery and Lang Walker to join other giants in The Australian Property Hall of Fame


Wednesday 12 April 2017: Stuart Hornery AO and Lang Walker AO will be inducted into The Australian Property Hall of Fame in May.

Property Council of Australia National President, Susan Lloyd-Hurwitz says Stuart Hornery AO and Lang Walker AO were chosen by the board for their sustained and visionary leadership, for their contributions to the industry and the nation, and for legacies that stand the test of time.

“This is the sixth year of The Australian Property Hall of Fame, and the Property Council is proud to honour the contributions and legacies of these outstanding leaders. We are a better industry because of the contribution of these leaders,” Ms Lloyd-Hurwitz says.


Stuart Hornery AO

Mr Hornery joined Lendlease as a graduate site engineer in 1964, launching a career that would catapult him into the role of chief executive in 1978 at the age of 39.

With Mr Hornery at the helm, Lendlease became known as the “company without limits”. Total shareholder returns lifted by more than 20 per cent a year, and Lendlease’s market capitalisation rose from $100 million to $10 billion.

Mr Hornery’s innovative ideas were underpinned by the belief that employees should share in the rewards they helped generate. By the time he retired in 2000, employees were the major shareholders, at one stage owning close to 20 per cent of the company.  

Mr Hornery also created a network of not for profit organisations. Among these were the ACTU-Lend Lease Foundation, established in 1980 and which trained more than 100,000 workers and The Hornery Institute, which is working to build better communities.

“Stuart’s legacy is not just great civic buildings and wealth creation for shareholders. Stuart championed values that we see today throughout the property and construction industry – fairness, innovation, employee engagement and a belief that buildings can give back to the community,” Ms Lloyd-Hurwitz says.

Mr Hornery passed away in 2012.


Lang Walker AO

After joining his father’s earthmoving business in the 1960s, Lang Walker created three successful property development empires, each one bigger and more successful than the last.

“Lang has lived and breathed property for more than five decades, delivering 1,000-plus projects, from national landmarks to homes for thousands of families,” Ms Lloyd-Hurwitz explains.

Among Mr Walker’s iconic developments are Woolloomooloo Wharf, King Street Wharf, Rhodes Waterside and Hope Island, as well as master-planned communities and more than 250 industrial projects.

Today, Mr Walker oversees a project pipeline of $25 billion, including the $2.5 billion Collins Square development in Melbourne and the $2billion Parramatta Square in Sydney. Walker Corporation is also delivering 28,000 dwellings in Malaysia over the next 15 years, plus 25,000 dwellings, and 11 multi-story office towers and large industrial estates throughout Australia.

Known for his philanthropy, Mr Walker personally supports a range of charities through the Walker Family Foundation.

The Australian Property Hall of Fame was established in 2012 by the Property Council of Australia.

Former inductees include: Dick Dusseldorp AO, Frank Lowy AC and Ray Powys AM (2012); John Gandel AO, Stan Perron AM and Sir John Pidgeon (2013); Ervin Graf OAM, Bruno Grollo AO and Rino Grollo (2014); John C Roberts AO and Harry Triguboff AO (2015); and Sir Keith Campbell, Robert Hamilton and Carol Schwartz AM (2016).

The induction ceremony will be held during the Property Leaders Dinner on Tuesday 30 May 2017 at Parliament House, Canberra.

More information at:


Media contact:  Paul Ritchie |   E  [email protected]